NRVRJ Authority

The governing authority of the New River Valley Regional Jail is made up of representatives from the participating jurisdictions. Participating jurisdictions for the New River Valley Regional Jail are Bland County, Carroll County, Floyd County, Giles County, Grayson County, Pulaski County, City of Radford, and Wythe County. The representatives consist of the sheriff, one appointed member and two alternate members from each jurisdiction.

The Chairman, Vice-Chairman, Treasurer and Secretary are elected from the membership annually.

Board Officers 2018 – 2019


Sheriff Mark R. Armentrout
City of Radford
(540) 731-5501


Mr. Tim Reeves
Wythe County


Ms. Nikki Cannon
Carroll County


Tonya Akers

Authority Members and Alternates 2018-2019

Bland County

Sheriff Tom Roseberry
Mr. Eric Workman
Ch. Deputy Jerry Turpin (A)
Mr. Rodney Ratliff (A)

Carroll County

Sheriff J. B. Gardner
Ms. Nikki Cannon
Ch. Deputy Gary Bourne (A)
Ms. Michelle Dalton (A)

Floyd County

Sheriff Brian Craig
Mr. Joe Turman
Ch. Deputy Chad Harris (A)
Mr. W. Justin Coleman (A)

Giles County

Sheriff Morgan Millirons
Mr. Richard Chidester
Mr. Todd Martin (A)

Grayson County

Sheriff Richard Vaughan
Mr. William Shepley
Ch. Deputy David Ashby (A)
Mr. Mitch Smith (A)

Pulaski County

Sheriff Michael Worrell
Ms. Andy McCready
Ch. Deputy Jeff Saunders (A)
Mr. Jonathan Sweet (A)

Radford City

Sheriff Mark Armentrout
Ms. Nikki Cumberland
Ch. Deputy Charlie Burton (A)
Mr. Gary Young (A)

Wythe County

Sheriff Keith Dunagan
Mr. Tim Reeves
Ch. Deputy Charles Foster (A)
Mr. Stephen Bear (A)